Eurasian River Basin Portal

«Support to water resources management and strengthening the capacity of water
management organizations in Europe and Central Asia»

Student research competition on sustainable management of natural resources in Central Asia and Afghanistan
Registrationwill last from April 6 to May 25, 2018

Transboundary water cooperation in Central Asia was presented at the 8th World Water Forum

Transboundary water cooperation in Central Asia was presented at the 8th World Water Forum 28.03.2018

BRASILIA. On March 21 CAREC and the Executive Committee of the International Fund for Saving the Aral Sea (EC IFAS) held a joint event "Transboundary Water Cooperation in Central Asia" in the frame of the 8th World Water Forum, the world's most important event on the water. About hundred participants visited the event, where the key persons of the states, diplomats, development partners, scientists and youth discussed water resource policies and regional projects.

Speakers underlined the main challenges of Central Asia: high share of transboundary rivers and water bodies, the Aral crisis, exchange of data, the harmonisation of legislation, balance between the environmental, social and economic interests of neighbouring countries. One of the most challenging issues of the region is the environmental crisis of the Aral Sea basin.

"The Aral Sea crisis is one of the biggest disasters of the last century that went beyond the Central Asian region"  noted the Extraordinary and Plenipotentiary  Ambassador of the Republic of Kazakhstan in Brazil Kairat Sarzhanov. He also continued that it is necessary to intensify the efforts of all countries of the world to eliminate consequences.

Today in a place where water is gone there is a desert area of 5.5 million hectares, the Aralkum desert.  Wind spreads salty, toxic sand on thousands of kilometres. 75 million tons of this dust gets into the atmosphere annually. These processes affect climate change. Due to the drying out of the Aral Sea in Uzbekistan and Karakalpak Autonomy, there is a significant temperature increase, especially in the summer season. The number of days when the temperature goes above 40°C almost doubled. Accordingly, winters become colder each passing year.

Shavkat Khamrayev, the Minister of Water Resources of the Republic of Uzbekistan, declared that the Trust Fund with an authorised capital of 2 billion dollars would be created for supporting the Aral Sea region. According to the minister, the establishment of such fund is another step forward to strengthen regional cooperation. "Integration processes in the region, political will and support of water cooperation are the main priorities of the modern policy of Uzbekistan" emphasised Mr Khamraev.

Other Central Asian countries share these priorities as well, Usmonali Usmonzoda, the Minister of Energy and Water Resources of the Republic of Tajikistan stressed that it is cooperation that lays in the solution of these set of tasks. "Only joint efforts and coordination will assist to develop adaptation mechanisms and address environmental challenges in Central Asia. A strong co-operation, therefore, will benefit economies and strengthen the development of the countries" - he added.

Another common task of the region is to find a balance between ecology, interests of society and economy. Contemporary management and protection of water resources are closely related to economic growth, social and environmental criteria of the Central Asian countries. "Turkmenistan, as the chair country in EC IFAS, is interested in making attempts to continue initiatives and in giving an impulse to strengthen cooperation both between the countries of the region and within international development partners," said the Chairman of the Executive Committee of IFAS Guizgeldy Baizhanov.

Also, during the event youth representatives declared an appeal of the civil society of the CA region. This collective statement was developed at Civil Society Forum of Central Asia organised by CAREC and Kazakh-German University in Dushanbe on 14-15 February 2018.

By voting, the participants identified four areas:

- Harmonization of the approach to monitoring and data exchange on water issues;

- Development of hydrometeorological monitoring network for adaptation to climate change;

- Environmental education for conservation of natural resources;

- Application of economic instruments for water resources management.

"Today special attention is on educational initiatives, in which countries of our region participate together.  Because unified approach in the environmental education forms a unified approach to all cooperation aspects stated above" - concluded Farhod Abdurakhmonov,  CAREC's Water Initiative Support Programme manager.

It is still early to talk about the results of Central Asia's participation in the 8th World Water Forum. But it should be noted, that the very fact of the involvement in the most significant event of the world in the field of water resources and, moreover, the consolidated appeal of civil society, demonstrated to the world community that people of Central Asia have already joined efforts to meet environmental challenges together.  



Back to the list

Евразийский портал
по управлению речными бассейнами

«Поддержка в управлении водными ресурсами и укреплении потенциала
бассейновых водохозяйственных
организаций в Европе и Центральной Азии»

Конкурс студенческих исследований по устойчивому управлению природными ресурсами в Центральной Азии и Афганистане
Регистрацияпродлится с 6 апреля по 25 мая 2018 года

Трансграничное водное сотрудничество в Центральной Азии представили на 8-м Всемирном Водном Форуме

Трансграничное водное сотрудничество в Центральной Азии представили на 8-м Всемирном Водном Форуме 28.03.2018

БРАЗИЛИА. 21 марта РЭЦЦА и Исполнительный Комитет Международного Фонда Спасения Арала (ИК МФСА) провели совместное мероприятие «Трансграничное водное сотрудничество в Центральной Азии» на полях 8-го Всемирного Водного Форума, крупнейшего мероприятия в мире в сфере водных ресурсов.

Около ста участников посетили единственное мероприятие Центрально-Азиатского региона, на котором первые лица государств, дипломаты, партнеры по развитию, ученые и молодые специалисты рассказали о водных ресурсах региона.

Спикеры обозначили основные вызовы Центральной Азии: высокая доля трансграничных рек и водоемов, Аральский кризис, обмен данными, гармонизация природоохранного законодательства, баланс между экологическими, социальными и экономическими интересами стран-соседей.

Одним из сложнейших вызовов региона является экологический кризис в бассейне Аральского моря. Полномочный Посол Республики Казахстан в Бразилии Кайрат Саржанов подчеркнул, что высыхание Арала стало общемировой проблемой, и для ликвидации ее последствий необходимо совместно активизировать усилия всех государств мира. «Аральский кризис является одним из крупнейших катастроф прошлого столетия, вышедшим за рамки Центрально-Азиатского региона», - добавил посол.

Сегодня на месте, где когда-то было море, раскинулась пустыня Аралкум площадью в 5,5 миллионов гектар. Соленые токсичные пески благодаря ветрам распространяются на тысячи километров, 75 миллионов тонн этой пыли ежегодно попадает в атмосферу. Эти процессы влияют на изменение климата. Вследствие высыхания Арала в Узбекистане и Каракалпакской автономии наблюдается рост температуры в летний период. Количество дней, когда на термометре +40, увеличилось практически вдвое. Соответственно, и зимы становятся с каждым годом все холоднее.

Министр водного хозяйства Республики Узбекистан Шавкат Хамраев рассказал, что для содействия развитию Приаралья был создан трастовый фонд с уставным капиталом в 2 миллиарда долларов. По словам министра, создание такого фонда – это один из шагов в укреплении сотрудничества. «Интеграционные процессы и сближение стран, политическая воля и поддержка водного сотрудничества являются приоритетными направлениями в политике современного Узбекистана» - заявил господин Хамраев.

Другие страны Центральной Азии тоже разделяют эти приоритеты: «Противостоять новым вызовам, выработать адаптационные механизмы и обеспечить устойчивость наших экономик можно только через объединение усилий и скоординированные действия», - подчеркнул Министр энергетики и водных ресурсов Республики Таджикистан Усмонали Усмонзода. Он также добавил, что именно в сотрудничестве кроется решение поставленных задач.

Еще один общий вызов региона – найти баланс между экологией, интересами общества и экономикой.  Современное управление и охрана водных ресурсов тесно связаны с экономическим ростом, социальными и экологическими критериями общества. «Туркменистан, в качестве председательствующей страны в ИК МФСА, заинтересован в том, чтобы приложить все усилия для продолжения начатых инициатив и придания дополнительного импульса укреплению сотрудничества, как между странами региона, так и с международными партнерами по развитию» - отметил Председатель ИК МФСА Гуйзгельды Байжанов.

Также, во время мероприятия «Трансграничное водное сотрудничество в Центральной Азии» спикеры зачитали обращение гражданского общества региона. Это коллективное сообщение составили во время Форума Гражданского Общества Центральной Азии по вопросам, связанным с водными ресурсами. Путем голосования участники выделили четыре направления:

- Гармонизация подхода к мониторингу и обмену данными по воде;

- Развитие сети гидрометеорологического мониторинга для адаптации к изменению климата;

- Экологическое образование для сохранения природных ресурсов;

- Применение экономических инструментов при управлении водными ресурсами.

«Особое внимание и поддержку сегодня находят образовательные инициативы, в которых страны нашего региона принимают совместное участие. Потому что единый подход в образовании молодых специалистов, закладывает основу единого подхода ко всем вышеперечисленным шагам», - заключил менеджер Программы поддержки водных инициатив РЭЦЦА Фарход Абдурахмонов.

Говорить о результатах участия Центральной Азии в 8-м Всемирном водном форуме еще рано. Но стоит отметить, что сам факт участия в крупнейшем мероприятии мира в сфере водных ресурсов и обращение от имени гражданского общества продемонстрировали мировому сообществу - жители Центральной Азии уже действуют сообща.  



Возврат к списку